Phillip Island Classic 2010- Regularity Report

The best yet. With some 100 competitors in Divisions 1 and 2, and 39 in the featured marque- Alfa Romeo, regularity entrants accounted for around 24% of total competitors, confirms the growing interest in this form of motor sport.

With the track in excellent condition, and generally fine weather, the weekend got off to a good start with both divisions practicing on Friday morning, and qualifying in the afternoon. By the end of Friday most competitors were fired up for Saturday, with nominated times established.

Michael Holloway, the clerk of Course, presented his driver's briefing emphasising safety and expected driver's behaviour, this was reinforced by Kevin Bartlett, Driving Standards Officer. I also spoke about the aim of Regularity events; having fun, safely. I am pleased to record that from what I saw, the standard of driving over the meeting was very good, with slower drivers signalling and giving track room to faster cars.

I felt very privileged to be on the track with some very significant and wonderful pre war GP cars such Bob Harborow's Maybach Special MK 1, driven by Lloyd McNeil (UK),Ron Townley's Talbot Largo, Peter Gidding's 1933 Alfa Romeo Tipo B P3, driven by Jack Quin (NZ), Peter Greenfield's (USA) 1935 Alfa 8C-35, more modern stuff such as the beautiful 1951 Ferrari of Warren de France (NZ), Martin McGlone's (UK) beautiful 1956 Aston Martin DB3/S, John Gillett's very significant MG K3, which has been in Australia for many years, previously owned by the Brady Family, Damian Cessario's 1956 Maserati A6C 54, Phips Rinaldo's (NZ) 1934 Alfa 6C Berlina, two GP Bugatti's of Alan Telfer, 37/35 B, and Kent Patrick's Type 37A plus lots of MG TC's , Patrick Ryan's well know MG TA, and lots of other beautiful more modern cars. The list just goes on.

Equally, there was a fantastic group of seriously fast and superbly presented cars in Division. Unfortunately the editorial space does not allow me to describe them all, but one could be forgiven if you thought it was a Porsche Regularity event. Great to have you guys supporting the VHRR.

The results were:

Division 1.

Event 1: 1st Phips Rinaldo, 2nd, John Goodall, 3rd Andrew Murray

Event 2: John Gillett, Brendan Kelly, Michael Ban,

Event 3: John Goodall, Charles Groves, Glen Bishop,

Event 4: Tom Ffrench, Ursula Weidenmuller, Ross Mckinnon

Division 2.

Event 1: 1st, Jeff Thomas, 2nd, Tim Pyne, 3rd Pete Ffrench,

Event 2: Phillip Ross, Greg Corbin, David Kelly,

Event 3: Vic Spiteri, John Hardy, Tony Rogers,

Event 4: Greg Redman, Mark Wells, Michael Aylmer.

Looks like everyone was having a real try.

This is the third year that we have run the Regularity Teams trophy. I am delighted that twelve teams, each of three members took up the challenge, the results of which were:

1 ^{st:} Ursula Weidenmuller, David Kelly, Ross Mckinnon,	321 Points left,
2 nd : Tony Rogers, John Goodall, Phil Schudmak,	320,
3 rd : Laurie Houghton, Warren Litchfield, Peter Goodall,	272,
4 th : John Hardy, Jeff Thomas, Ray Narkiewicz,	260,
5 th : Bob Cutting, Rob Crichton, Mark Wells,	230,
6 th : Ron Townley, Bob Pinkerton, Kent Patrick,	223,
7 th : Tom Ffrench, John Evans, John Ingram,	206,
8 th : Paul Schilling, Pete FFrench, Michael Ban,	200,
9 th : Bruce Young, Phil Hedt, Rowan Pinder,	192,
10 th : Phillip Ross, Michael Valmorbida, Joe di Bartolo,	178,
11 th : Peter Giddings, Peter Greenfield, Phips Rinaldo,	168,
12 th : Graham Phillips, Bill Vaughan, Rod Vogt,	145.

The winner of the Kel Ricci Perpetual Trophy, (for the best individual driver), was John Goodall, Austin Healey 100-6.

Congratulations to all winners, and team entrants, and thanks to all for supporting our meeting. I look forward to seeing each of you competing in 2011 and hopefully as many as possible at Sandown later in 2010.